Small victories!

20130307-155702.jpg

Most of my pain is due to hypersensitivity in my feet and lower legs. Touch hurts, shoes hurt, pressure hurts, I’ve had days when even a fan blowing air would cause me to cringe. Desensitizing my feet has always been my biggest battle, and yoga has helped me to not only get used to constant varied sensation but also taught me how to breathe and take my mind elsewhere when the pain gets really intense. That’s what this picture represents for me. It is so painful for my feet to intertwine like that, but I’ve been practicing this pose for a solid month, trying to find that balance between mind and body. Today was the first day that I was able to bear the pain and still take my mind to a happy place. I think there’s even a smile poking out from behind those toes! It’s days like these that I realize just how grateful I am for the small victories. They keep me going 🙂

One thought on “Small victories!

  1. Ouch!! I’m getting back pains looking at the picture! LOL I don’t know how you do it, Katie, but I’m rooting for you! 😀

Leave a Reply

